Poor cook, looking to get into wine

Discussion in 'Pairing Food and Wine' started by atatax, Dec 10, 2015.

1. atatax

atatax

Exp:
    Line Cook
    So I work in a tourism location and business is slow during the winter, so i have a "day off" for now, sometimes multiple in a single week. With my free time, i want to develop a better taste for wine. I started a little during the tourism season, and discovered a taste for california cabs. I've also found that whites and pinots tend to fall short. And that i quite enjoyed the tangy taste of a cheap Bolla Valpolicella, although found it lacking.

I'm looking for recomendarions for cabs, valpolicella, maybe ripasso? or other similar reds. I'll probably be drinking them alone, so nothing too kammy. Keep in mind i'm a poor cook and can't spend too much on wine. Also i live in the midwest in the US and would need to be available in that region.

2. jimyra

jimyra

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I like Castello Banfi wines.  I prefer reds but enjoy a good white occasionally.  I prefer to cook with whites.  Banfi is available in many places that carry Italian wines.  They are priced from about ten dollars and up.  Their Chianti is good and is available in several price points.  Here is  their web site http://castellobanfi.com/en/ . Brunello di Montalcino Castello Banfi is my favorite, pricey but a great red.  enjoy     

3. chefbillyb

chefbillyb

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    If your looking in Napa valley Cabs are king. There are so many good wines in California, Oregon and Washington State. I am drinking Cabs now that are from years 1997 to 2000. If you like Cabs it's hard to go down to a Merlot. Most white and Rose don't do it either. Some of the full bodied reds will make your day. When I spent time in Napa valley I like the way Opus1 did things. There are just to many to bring up. I guess it just depends on your pocketbook........The best......ChefBill

4. chefross

chefross

Exp:
    Former Chef