Please help with choosing a gyuto

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by jalapenocheese, Jan 26, 2016.

1. jalapenocheese

jalapenocheese

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Hi all

I hope I can get some guidance on choosing a Japanese knife that I'm looking to add to our kitchen. Currently, we have an 8" Shun Premier Chef's knife that's about 5.5 years old but I'm relegating it as a back-up knife.

I'm not a professional but I love to cook (and adore kitchen stuff). I would use this knife for cutting vegetables and meats.

I feel like an 8" knife is just the right size for me, but seeing that I'll be ordering a new Japanese knife over the internet, I wouldn't have a chance to try it out. I have browsed a few websites on 8" gyutos but most of the time I get overwhelmed with choices and have no idea which one to get. My budget range is between $100-200.

I saw this on Amazon and wonder if this is a step up from the Shun Premier? Or is there something better at a similar price point?

Thanks for reading and hope to get some advice from you all.

JC

2. kevin lin

kevin lin

Exp:
    At home cook
    Speak with Jon at Japanese Knife Imports. He's the owner of the shop and is incredibly knowledgeable about Japanese knives. Everything Jon sells is great quality.

I would recommend a 240mm gyuto. Though the 210mm gyuto is essentially 8", most people tend to gravitate towards the 240mm.

3. foody518

foody518

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    I second recommendation to talk to Jon at JKI.
    In what ways do you want a step up? Please elaborate on your cutting, your preferences, likes and dislikes about your current knife.
    That Yoshihiro you listed is probably more of a lateral move than an upgrade.

More importantly...how do you sharpen?

4. jalapenocheese

jalapenocheese

Exp:
    Home Cook
    I'm outside US but I can speak with Jon.