Chef Forum banner

pizza

2K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  ordo 
#1 ·
Hi i am a chef in sri lnaka, i don't know how to make, pizza, if you can please give me a quality pizza recipe

thanks.

#3 ·
Like all good food, good pizza is about good ingredients. 

Can you source good flour, tomatoes, cheese and the proper herbs?   But even this will only produce what the people responding to you like on their pizza. In much of Asia, pizza is handled rather differently than in the West, and is what the customers want.

What sort of pizza do you want to try and sell?

#4 ·
I recently typed up directions for my brother to make a pizza at home. This is heavily influenced by Cook's Illustrated pizza technique so if you see similarities, that's why. Production in a restaurant is a different thing.

There are a few critical parts to making pizza. Perhaps the most important thing to understand is to match the amount of sauce, cheese and toppings to the crust. Thinner crusts need much less sauce and cheese to taste right and they actually cook better, have more interesting texture and are more satisfying because they're better. Most people want to load a pizza up with sauce, cheese and toppings and that's all wrong. Less is more with pizza.

Some specialty tools really help out in making pizza
  • Pizza stone (and/or a cast iron pizza pan)--I like the crust better off the cast iron pan than the stone actually-crispier.
  • Parchment paper-beats corn meal in every way for getting the pizza onto and off the stone. I get the pre-cut sheets rather than using the commonly available rolls. Much easier to deal with and sized right for a standard rimmed baking sheet.
  • rimless baking sheet--I use this to get the pizza into the oven as most home peels are small and the pizza hangs off the edges--disaster.