Chef Forum banner

Picking a budget first knife

6K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  loomchick 
#1 ·
Hi guys,

I am a Physics student but LOVE cooking, and find myself spending 4+ hours in the kitchen every day. However, until now I have always used whatever knives were lying around, and I think it's now time to buy myself a good chef's knife.

Unfortunately, like I said, I am a student. In other words, a global knife costs more than I spend on two months' groceries, and I'm usually broke.

Luckily, I recently won a prize for some academic stuff, and that prize came with £100 of prize money, so I'm thinking I can use up to £40 (ideally ~£20, but for an extraordinarily good knife I could go over) of that to buy a knife.

I have looked at hundreds of knives over the past week, and so far have narrowed my choices down to these three:
Richardson Sheffield - V Sabatier - 20cm (8")
Mercer - Renaissance - 20cm (8")
Global - GS-89A - 13cm (5")

Of these, the first one is my favorite because of it's low price and great reviews (the dishwasher safe-ness is quite questionable, but I always hand wash knives anyway).

The Mercer has been mentioned by lots of reviewers on different sites, but I can't really see what justifies the extra £20, given that the blade is X50CrMoV15 like the V Sabatier and seems just as thick. Perhaps I'm missing something here?

And finally the Global. I know, it's small. But the idea of getting a Global knife just seems too hard to get over. Is this really that bad an idea? (keep in mind, this will be my only knife until I graduate)

As you can probably see, I am really quite conflicted here. Like I say, I have never bought a knife so I don't know what to go for. If the Mercer doesn't hold any merit over the V Sabatier I would prefer to save the £20. But if the Global isn't a terrible idea...