Personality Plus

Joined Dec 7, 2002
Hello!
My name is Chelsea and I am a student at a UC school. I am currently researching restaurant chefs, and I am wondering what personality traits you think are essential in order to be successful? I am open to all ideas!! Thankyou for your input.

Chelsea

Joined Nov 21, 2001
for me, it's always been a really sick, warped sense of humor. it kind of helps relieve the stress. :eek: :D :)
kat

Joined Aug 29, 2000
Hello, Chelsea, and welcome to Chef Talk.

I encourage you to browse through all of the forums, and to check the archives and older posts for some of the information you are seeking. We have a great search function on this board; just type in your topic, and you'll be whisked to some great conversations.

Please stop by in the Welcome Forum to tell us a bit more about yourself. Then visit the other forums to enjoy the threads and post as you like.

Mezzaluna
welcome forum moderator

Joined Dec 4, 2002
I think what Kat says is true, while I don't find myself all that funny, I think I do posess that "sick" kind of humor that most people do not. We laugh at some pretty weird things. I think it's just a matter of looking at things in a different light.
Also, with chefs,
there always seems to be some sort of deep emotional dysfunction, or at least a difficulty in expressing themselves via the normal channels. I know that when I started out, I was an introverted, insecure. wannabe artist type. In cooking, I found I could create without a lot of people bothering me,besides the chef, who was always viewed as a sort of ranting alcoholic/lunatic/genious, but also mentor. All the chefs I saw at the time all seemed a bit crazy and obtuse, and strangely, that was desirable if not necessarily admirable.