Personalities........

Discussion in 'The Late Night Cafe (off-topic)' started by chefboy2160, Mar 11, 2004.

1. chefboy2160

chefboy2160

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    Personalities and egos are a part of any biz but this one seems to accentuate it more as we are always working in the moment!
    The interactions are sometimes the high light of the shift . As a young line cook I remember my swiss chef blowing up on the line as we needed more diced shallots and garlic for the line during a busy service period . He ripped the hispanic prep cook a new one in front of everybody in hearing range ! When the prep said in a calm voice , " chef , I have no more prepped for you because obviously some cheap SOB did not know what they were doing when they ordered and so we are now out "
    Wow , you could here a pin drop , the chef said of course we have more you just are friggen blind ! Well after the chef leaves the line for a few minutes he comes back and of course the prep cook was right and his excuse was that dumb a** produce company frigged up. No product and use onions and granulated garlic the rest of the night . The chef was never wrong!
    So what personalities have you met in this biz that have left an impression on you ? Clear skies , Doug..........................

2. cape chef

cape chef

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    THE RULES OF THE CHEF

•THE CHEF IS RIGHT.

•THE CHEF IS ALWAYS RIGHT.

•EVEN IF AN UNDERLING IS RIGHT, ARTICLE I APPLIES.

•THE CHEF DOESN’T EAT, HE NOURISHES HIMHELF.

•THE CHEF DOESN’T DRINK, HE TASTES.

•THE CHEF DOESN’T SLEEP, HE RESTS HIMSELF.

•THE CHEF IS NEVER LATE, HE IS RETAINED.

•THE CHEF NEVER QUITS HIS SERVICE HE IS CALLED AWAY.

•THE CHEF NEVER CARRIES ON RELATIONS WITH HIS SECRETARY, HE EDUCATES HER.

•THE CHEF NEVER READS HIS NEWSPAPER ON THE JOB, HE STUDIES IT.

•YOU GO INTO THE CHEF’S OFFICE WITH YOUR PERSONNAL IDEAS; YOU COME OUT WITH THE CHEF’S IDEAS.

•THE CHEF REMAINS THE CHEF EVEN IN A BATHING SUIT.