Patina--Force it or let come naturally?

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by sal paradise, Feb 27, 2016.

1. sal paradise

sal paradise

Exp:
    Former Chef
    I have just ordered my first Carbon blade -- a 240 Misono Sweden -- and I'm curious about caring for this knife, specifically preventing rusting and reducing reactivity with foods.  So I guess those things are related to forming a patina.

My question(s):

Should I force a patina right away, using mustard or vinegar or similar?

Should I let it form naturally, but maybe help it along by slicing  a few pounds of onions/potatoes/other cheap produce?

Some other option?

I am now a home cook, so I do not have easy access to 50# bags of onions anymore.  Oddly mixed emotions about that...

2. brianshaw

brianshaw

Exp:
    Former Chef
    Option #2

3. ordo

ordo

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Better see how it reacts to a natural patina. Use it, wash it, dry it carefully (the tang also).

There's a beautiful wabi-sabi mistic in building natural patinas.

4. foody518

foody518

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    Congrats on the new knife! Post up patina pictures of whichever path you choose :D

5. benuser

benuser

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Congratulations! That Misono was my first Japanese carbon as well, and I still love it.
    I've mostly forced a patina on my Misonos in order to control the process a bit. You may as well follow an intermediate route by waiting a bit before cleaning the blade after use. But make sure to clean the very edge, e.g. by cutting very lightly in a cork. Otherwise the oxidation will dull the edge.
    Anyway, rinse with a lot of very hot water.
    What brings me to say something about a Misono particularity, i.e. its factory edge. Very polished and overly convexed by buffering, and relatively weak.
    The Swedish Carbons sharpen very easily, but you can't follow that factory edge.