Pastry Case Display set up/expiration date of fillings

Discussion in 'Professional Pastry Chefs' started by Joni Johnson, Aug 10, 2018.

1. Joni Johnson

Joni Johnson

Exp:
    Pastry Chef
    I am fairly new to the culinary world of pastry and am a pastry chef at a grocery store. We have a display case which we fill with assortments of eclairs, fruit tarts, napoleon, cheesecake etc. I was wondering if there is a way to best display each dessert. Sorting by color, by type...is there a way that makes the most sense? I suppose the main goal would be to sell the most desserts where I work. For me though, I would like to know a few best ways of organizing the layout regardless of the goal at hand.

I love pastry and am hoping to make this a career and I believe presentation is very important. Are there any books or research on plating/presentation for a display case?

I am also wondering if there is a general rule on the expiration date of fillings such as some whip creams, pastry cream, mousse...some people have suggested using the expiration date of the cream used, some say by taste? I store them in pastry bags in a refrigerator.

Lastly, this may be an ignorant question but as I make fillings is it okay to just rinse the bowl with hot water and use it right away again to mix something else without washing it with soap?

Probably a few basic questions but I would like to know and get a good foundation for developing my passion! I am finding my pastry case is starting to feel like my child and I want to take good care of it!

Thank you all and I would appreciate any feedback!

2. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    There's no hard and fast rule when it comes to displaying the merchandise.

You're supposed to do it according to your target customers and the style of your shop.

Usually grocery stores have experts that come in to optimize the product display in store.

Grocery stores usually also have their own rules regarding the expiration dates.

3. chefpeon