pasta maker help

Discussion in 'Cooking Equipment Reviews' started by shannon426, Nov 13, 2001.

1. shannon426

shannon426

I need some advice!

I am looking to purchase a pasta maker for my fiance for Christmas, and I don't know what the best buy would be. He is a spectacular cook, having been passionate about it for over a decade. He has also worked as a chef in a 4 star restaurant, so quality is very important. Does anyone have any advice on what brands make the best pasta makers? Any ideas on where to buy them? Any advice from your personal collection on what the best buy is? I'm a college student myself, so I can't spend too much money, but I'm willing to invest in a quality pasta maker at a resonable price.

I'd love any advice you can give! Thank you so much :)

2. kimmie

kimmie

Dear Shannon426:

I have an Imperia pasta machine with various attachments. Whatever brand you choose, make sure you have optional attachments, and STAY AWAY from electric models.

Do a search by clicking here

and BTW, Welcome to Cheftalk. I look forward to post #2...

:D

3. isa

isa

Welcome to Chef Talk Shannon!

Listen to Kimmie, she knows her cookware.

4. kimmie

kimmie

Thank you Isa! :eek:

Shannon:

You will find pasta machines at any good kitchen store.

:)

5. svadhisthana

svadhisthana

I have seen good quality pasta machines at art supply stores (for the purpose of working with clay) for much less money than the same exact machine at a gourmet food store. I agree with Isa-Kimmie knows what she's talking about-don't get an electric model. I love my good old fashioned chrome hand crank model. Good luck, and welcome to Chef Talk!:bounce:

6. mudbug

mudbug

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    shannon426,

Are you looking for a traditional manual one or a small appliance?

If your fiance is truly passionate about cooking, there is a chance he might want a traditional manual pasta machine, the silver one like this:
    [​IMG]