Pasta e Ceci

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by hawkflight, Sep 14, 2017.

1. hawkflight

hawkflight

Exp:
    Home Chef
    Hello everyone. I'm a casual chef looking for advice on my pasta e ceci.

The way I normally make it is to boil two boxes of penne pasta, drain it, then add two tablespoons of chopped rosemary, a couple cloves of garlic, two cans of chickpeas, some olive oil, and some shredded cheese. Recently, I've taken to adding some pine nuts and finishing it with truffle salt, which has made all the difference in the world, as well as crushing the rosemary and garlic in a mortar and pestle and adding the olive oil directly to that, allowing the rosemary and garlic to infuse the oil. I just had a few questions about how to make this dish even better.

Question the first: Truffle salt. Should i continue using it as a finish, or should I add it to the olive oil early? I've heard truffle is highly fat-soluble, infusing the oil with its natural ... truffleness. (Is that a word? It is now.) So I'm wondering if it's best to infuse the oil along with the herbs and garlic.

Question the second: Should I add a leaf or two of bayleaf to the mixture? Maybe crack it and add it to the oil mixture, then taking it out before adding the oil mixture to the pot?

Question the third: I've been considering adding chopped tomatoes to the dish, but I honestly don't know how to go about doing that. The last time I tried, the tomatoes just ended up a soggy, mushy mess instead of the crisp pearls of slightly-acidic juiciness that I was anticipating. Did I add them too early? Should I wait until the dish is finished then just add the chopped tomatoes at the last minute? Or even better, to the bowl as it's being served? And how about when there's leftovers, which there will inevitably be?

Hoping to hear some professional opinions on this. I may not be an professional myself, but I do take great pride in my work, especially when I'm serving it for others.

2. koukouvagia