Pasta dough ?

Joined Aug 10, 2013
I will be making pasta tomorrow, I am a beginner ? Once your ingredients are incorporated, how long do you need your dough ?
Some say 3 minutes some say 8 and some say 10 no straight answers.
What ratio of flour to eggs, do you like to use ? Some say 1 cup of flour, per 1 large egg . Some say one yolk + 3 whole eggs /two cups of flour.

Once have my pasta cut into Fettuccine noodles , how can I go about saving them? If I don't boil them right away, flour well and into the fridge.
Or must they be frozen ?

Joined Sep 5, 2008
IMO, The right questions shouldn't be how long you knead or how many yolks you're using, but why are you kneading, what goal does it accomplish, and how can you tell wether the goal is reached? Why are you adding yolks, what do they bring to the plate, what happens if you don't use any or if you use a little or a lot?

Quick answers are, you knead to develop gluten strands and make your dough elastic. You can tell you've reached that goal when the dough becomes smooth and ... well elastic. It typically takes about 10mn.

The ratio of flour to egg depends on the result you want. Yolks are made of fat and protein, so more yolks make a richer pasta. On the other hand the more fat in your pasta dough, the harder it is to develop the glutens properly, so your pasta will be less elastic, more noodle like.

Ultimately nothing beats experimenting for yourself. But to get you started, the great thing with internet is that for many of those questions some people have had the same questions before and have been though the trouble of experimenting and documenting their experiments: https://www.seriouseats.com/2015/01/best-easy-all-purpose-fresh-pasta-dough-recipe-instructions.html

Joined May 28, 2015
I will be making pasta tomorrow, I am a beginner ? Once your ingredients are incorporated, how long do you need your dough ?