panko

Joined Mar 13, 2002
A friend brought me a couple of bags of panko crumbs. I remember reading about them but can't remember how I am supposed to use them. Help please!

Joined Jul 31, 2000
Panko is japenese bread crumbs.

I love there texture.

I use them primarely for breading seafood like ahi,soft shell crabs and the like.

Joined Dec 17, 2002
Leethequeen,
Another use of Panko is with firm-fleshed fish dredged in water and cornstarch slurry, then in the Panko and quickly fried off. I am not an expert in the oriental cuisine, but I have seen that done. Try experimenting with a few vegetables also. Good luck!
schoolchef

Joined May 26, 2001
Anything that you might do "à l'anglais" -- that is, coat in flour, then egg, then crumbs -- can be done with panko crumbs as the last coating. Pork chops, veal chops, turkey scallops, not only fish. Panko crumbs give a wonderful crunch to anything you fry.

Joined Dec 1, 2002
Since everybody posted uses I will post a way I don't use them. I think that they are too big to use as a binder. ie- duxelle, meatloaf etc. They do work well with persillade ( garlic, butter, parley, and bread). Mix it up and sprinkle on casseroles, Au Gratin potatoes, etc.

Joined Sep 21, 2001
I used them to make our chicken strips and duck strips. They blow any pre-mades out of the water. And they cost about a quarter of the price.

Joined Mar 4, 2000
Don't forget to try it on apple or banana fritters, along with some shredded coconut. Mmmm:lips: .

isa

Joined Apr 4, 2000
Why not try a few japanese dishes like Tonkatsu, a fried breaded pork cutlet, on rice with its little sauce. :lips:

Joined Jan 26, 2003
We use panko primarily for deep frying. It's awesome with thinly sliced turnips and all kinds of veges. I wonder how it would be to batter stuffed squash blossoms (which are soon to come in season) and then coat with panko and deep fry? I stuffed some snow peas the other day and am thinking they too, would be awsome fried with panko. dickie