Opinions Wanted

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by stacey2685, Jan 2, 2005.

1. stacey2685

stacey2685

I am currently a student at the Culinary Institute of Canada and i am in my 2nd year. I graduate in May. Right now i debating weather or not i want to come back to school or not next year for my pastry arts. i dunno if its going to do me any good or not! I'm also confused about where i wanna go, and what i want to do for the rest of my life, i know i want to stay in this business, but i dunno if i want to travel alot...where?
    Its alot of stress on the mind of a 19 yr old....

just can i have some advice on what to do, on anything i should know, b4 making the decision, anything u think i should know!

:chef: Stace

2. tytitan

tytitan

Maybe you should make out a list of possible avenues that you want to pursue than write down pros and cons of each and make your decision that way. It has worked for me in the past.

Are you taking up culinary now?

3. stacey2685

stacey2685

ya, i'm doing the culinary arts program now, i'm in my 2nd year, and graduate in may

4. cookmonster

cookmonster

Whether you are going into food styling, chefdom, specializing in garde manger, etc...I would recommend taking pastry, for several reasons. If you are in fact looking to be a chef you need to know pastries in the event your pastry guy is out that day. NOt only that, but as chef you are still responsible for managing inventory and usually purchasing, etc... Not to mention as chef, you should know what goes on in your kitchen and what is coming out of it.

On a smaller scale, you may need to know how to make certain doughs used in savory applications, and you may need to understand what makes a good baguette that you may want to serve to your customers.

There's more but just think about that stuff first and good luck...

5. squigon

squigon