Omelettes

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by candymachine7, Feb 24, 2014.

1. candymachine7

candymachine7

Exp:
    Line Cook
    I've been cooking for a couple years now. I am currently a breakfast line cook that makes only omelettes. I wanted any advice from anyone in a similar situation. I make omelettes with one other cook, we each have a stove top with 4 burners each and every morning we get slammed with a ton of orders making speed an essential part of our work. Ive experimented with several methods of making omelettes but i never found something im happy with. Any cooks out there been through the same thing?

2. redbeerd cantu

redbeerd cantu

Exp:
    St. Philip's College Culinary Arts (AAS, Cum Laude), International Kitchens
    What kind of omelettes are you making?

You got the half-moon omelette:

The rolled omelette:

Open-faced omelette:

What aspect of the omelette or omelette-making are you unhappy with?

3. chillhouse

chillhouse

Exp:
    Sous Chef
    Is that an omelette or frattata?? I think i spelled it right..lol

4. chefross

chefross

Exp:
    Former Chef
    If I was served an omelette like the one in the first picture, I send it back.

Jayvader and phaedrus like this.
  5. chefwriter

chefwriter

Exp:
    Professional Cook
    You will have to be a bit more specific with any problems you are having. The standard rules apply for having all your mise-en-place in place,  Orienting your tools for easy grasping, and remaining calm so you can think straight. 

As for omelets, you must be doing pan omelets rather than on the grill so unless you want to keep seasoned pans, make sure you have at least three high quality non stick pans so you can make more than one at a time. Each pan should have its' own small stainless steel bowl for mixing the eggs unless you pool the eggs and strain them ahead of time. I don't recommend pooling. If you do pool the eggs, you should keep the container in a deep bed of ice.