Olive Oil for Papa Chef

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by pompeyams, Aug 8, 2001.

1. pompeyams

pompeyams

dear Papa Chef after reading a few weeks ago about your life long passion for olive oil I thought you,d be the man to ask im a manic chef who wants to learn all the time at the moment im using 3 olive oils romulo from spain pons estate bottled oil from catalan infact I think the romulo is from catalan and a mosto naturale from ligurian they are all very good but do you have any suggestions for other olive oils it would be great to hear from you all the best pompey

2. cape chef

cape chef

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    pompayams..

Papa has a great web site dedicated to all things olive oil,plus many other wonderful resourses.
    www.olivetreeworld.com
    It's a great site
    cc

3. papa

papa

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Dear PompeYams:

Your selection of olive oils sounds wonderful and I imagine that your culinary creations using these oils are delicious.

At the moment, some of my favorite olive oils come from the following regions:

1. Tras-os-Montes, northeastern Portugal.
    2. Mani, southeastern Peloponnese, Greece.
    3. Kolymbari, northeastern Crete, Greece.
    4. The highlands of Sardinia, Italy.
    5. The hillsides of Alpes Maritime, France.
    6. Umbria, Italy.
    7. Tuscany, Italy.
    8. Jaen, Anadalucia, Spain.

I would like to point out, however, that the Olive Tree World is a world of constant discovery. I just received a small sample from a family olive grove situated in the Sicilian highlands that was excellent. I am continually learning about new regions that are not really publicized and that yield a cornucopia of flavors for the appreciative palate.