Ok so here's a question

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by frizbee, Apr 20, 2004.

1. frizbee

frizbee

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I have heard from many chef's and cooks over the years, that part of the animosity in the whole work environment is the fact that servers generally make more then the cooks do. Obviously as a server I know this is generally true. As a culinary arts student I guess on some level I figured with the right education, good networking into the right establishment that as a cook and further on chef, I would see that balance out.

My questions for discussion are these:
    1) As a culinary professional, how do you not let this eat away at you? We do 5 times the work, for less money.
    2) Will it always be that way financially until I get to the exec chef level and beyond? As an aside, do restaurant mgrs (FOH) make more the chef’s typically?

In answer to my own question,
    With extensive experience as a server, although I genuinely enjoy the rapport I have with my guests, and I absolutely have a vested interest (outside of the money) in seeing them have an Umami experience, I have known servers that hated service and were just in it for the money. I accept as a culinarian I am not in it for the money per se. I am in it for the creative outlet, paling around with the most colorful and crazy people I have ever met and for the fast pace high stress environment on the line I crave and thrive in. I almost don't sweat the money believing that doing what I am passionate about is more valuable then a 300 dollar night in tips.
    Call me crazy but it’s what I feel.
    How do you feel about it?

2. anneke

anneke

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor