"Official" National Dishes?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by rachwade11, Oct 9, 2010.

1. rachwade11

rachwade11

Exp:
    Other
    Hi everyone,

Hopefully a simple question....

I'm a writer and am researching the National Dish of every country for an assignment. Are there in fact "Official" National Dishes for each country, and if so, is there a reputable source I may refer to so I can find them? I have assumed with all of the research I've done so far that not every country has an official dish, but they at least have one or two popular dishes that their culture is known for. Are there certain sources or websites that you can recommend?

If anyone (especially if you are a chef or are in the culinary field) can shed some light on this for me, it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks /img/vbsmilies/smilies//smile.gif

2. gunnar

gunnar

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I always hear things like kimchi is the national dish of the Phillipines  or hot dogs are the national dish of America or Chicken Tikka Masala has taken over in England as the national dish, but it is up in the air a bit I think.  Every National Dish has a compatriot or two. like Apple pie for America or Roast Beef and gravy for England or Pho for the Phillipines . Not to mention the "Regional National" arguments one will get from people in the same country. Like which apple pie is best, oy.

I am curious and will poke around the web but I have never heard of a single Official List

3. petemccracken

petemccracken

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Gunnar, maybe I've been "mislead", but isn't Kimchi more often related to Korea and Pho to Viet Nam? I always think of Pancit and Lumpia when someone mentions the Philippines, Haggis when someone mentions Scotland, etc.

4. petemccracken

petemccracken

Exp:
    Professional Chef
  5. ishbel

ishbel

Exp:
    Cook At Home