Not confident in cooking abilities

Discussion in 'After Culinary School' started by mackenzie, Jun 18, 2017.

1. mackenzie

mackenzie

Exp:
    Culinary Student
    I am going to graduate culinary school in 6 weeks and I don't have a job yet. (I have worked in a kitchen before but I was only a cooks assistant at a retreat center. I didn't have very much responsibility) I am really worried about applying for jobs because I haven't improved with cooking like I thought I would. I'm an okay cook but not good enough to tell an employer that I'm confident in my abilities. Are there any jobs that would suit someone like me? Like a starter job? Like I said I don't even feel comfortable working in a super professional environment but since I went to/will graduate culinary school my family wants me to get a job in the industry (which I totally understand, they paid for most of it). 

2. kevin oliver

kevin oliver

Exp:
    Home Chef
    Your family wants you to get a job in the field because they helped pay for your education? Interesting. I think your situation isn't uncommon, though. Our families tend (try) to dictate our lives. My recommendation... learn what you love and do that. Else your life will pass you by for the sake of paying bills. I know it's harsh... but I was in the same position as you. Self awareness is the core of success/winning.

Either way...

I think a lot of employers are going to understand that you lack experience fresh out of culinary school. They'll have their system in place, you just need time to learn the ropes. I don't think it's normal to have a ton of confidence without real job experience. And you realize this... just don't allow it to consume you. Be humble in your questions and work hard... that is a perfect employee, in my opinion. 

I wish you the best of luck.

3. 504chef_

504chef_

Exp:
    15 years