Northern California baking programs, and questions from a vegan

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by fadsy, Jun 17, 2010.

1. fadsy

fadsy

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    Hello!  I'm trying to decide on a community college baking program, and I'm having a hard time.  I do plan to visit some or all of these schools before I make a final decision, but I'm wondering if anyone has any thoughts on any of the following schools (or any others I may be overlooking):

Santa Rosa Junior College

Laney College

Contra Costa College

American River College

I live in Sacramento currently, so American River would be ideal in terms of location.  They only offer a baking certificate, though.  The other schools I'm considering offer AA programs in baking and pastry.  Santa Rosa's program looks particularly good to me, but I'd have to relocate to go there (or any other school).  I don't know if it's worth it.

Background information: I graduated with a BA in English last year, and took an internship in a Disney World restaurant right away (front of house stuff mostly, but I did work a few shifts stocking the kitchen and running around fetching things for the cooks and servers).  I came home last month, and now I'm faced with the sad reality that an English BA is not very marketable right now.  Nothing I can think to do with my degree excites me very much anyway, so after a lot of thought, I've decided to pursue culinary school.  I want to bake professionally.

Anyway, I can't decide where to go.  Any thoughts?