"Non refundable deposit"

Joined Jun 22, 2018
This client paid the Deposit of $200 to book the date. My contract says "non refundable" It does not specify anything about taking it off bill if job goes through as planned, but clearly this client is interpreting it as such. How do you all handle the initial deposit? Do you take it off final bill? Thanks for feedback..
Also, do I charge sales tax only if functioning as an LLC or as a DBA ( I am a DBA ) Thanks a million!

Below is most recent email from the client. Gig is 2/29/20
"Also, I was reviewing the contract with my husband and we were wondering, I know it says the $200 for booking the date is non- refundable if cancelled but that doesn’t then get credited towards the total due?"

Show quoted text

Joined Jun 22, 2018
How did you bid the job?
Once they decided to use me, I asked for a $200 deposit to book date. In my contract, I did say the $200 was "nonrefundable" I did not define what I meant by that. They assumed that it would come off final bill,unless the gig was cancelled in which case it would be nonrefundable. So I will at this juncture, say, " Yes, the $200 will come off the balance due."

Joined Feb 8, 2009
I think it's common sense to figure the deposit is a down payment for future services. The deposit is saving their spot/service on a scheduled day. If they cancel it's non-refundable, if they don't it's deducted from the final bill......

Joined Dec 18, 2010
What chefbillieb said!

it sounds like your contract (and maybe your understanding of contracting) needs some improvement. An unclear mutual understanding of the deal, Whether being explained during the marketing pitch or written in the contract, is bad business.

Joined Jun 22, 2018
What chefbillieb said!

it sounds like your contract (and maybe your understanding of contracting) needs some improvement. An unclear mutual understanding of the deal, Whether being explained during the marketing pitch or written in the contract, is bad business.