"No yeast" requests

Discussion in 'Open Forum With David Joachim' started by jolly roger, Mar 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jolly roger

jolly roger Banned

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    David...welcome

I'm a personal chef and I'm in a position where I can tailor my menu and its ingredients to specific clients, so when I have a client that tells me they can't have anything containing yeast, what can I use for coatings on meats when I saute (besides corn starch)? The reason I don't like corn starch is that you don't get the same texture when you saute in hot oil,and it seems to break down in the pan and become a "sauce", rather than a crispy outer coating with flavor. Any thoughts? Thanks!

2. thetincook

thetincook

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Use matzho meal!

3. jolly roger

jolly roger Banned

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Hey tincook...Do mean matzho meal as in matzho balls? Is it like corn meal? I'm not familiar with that. I know what corn meal does and I've used ground corn flakes , but they tend to want to burn before you can put a good saute on the meat. So what do you mean?

4. panini

panini

Exp:
    Owner/Operator
    I have a rest. that orders sheets of corn bread. Nothing fancy. They dry them out and use them for breading on two of their fish dishes. I'm assuming they are just air drying and seasoning.
    I'm also thinking that soda bread may work.

5. aurora

aurora

Exp:
    Restaurant Manager
    Matzo meal is a meal made from crumbled matzos. Matzo is an unleaven bread made from a dough of simply wheat and water which is rolled cracker thin and baked until crisp. It contains no yeast and will give you the chrispness and texture you are looking for in a breading.

6. jolly roger

jolly roger Banned

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Aurora...Thanks! I'll look for this. I don't know why I didn't think of unlevened bread and then grinding it down with seasonings for a coating. Good suggestions.

7. david joachim