No head chef in team.

Discussion in 'The Late Night Cafe (off-topic)' started by Ashybashy, Sep 11, 2019 at 12:22 AM.

1. Ashybashy

Ashybashy

Exp:
    None
    Recently started a new job, been told by head and sous chef that when not busy basically do what I want and that we are all just chefs trying to get through the shift theres no real "boss type figures" so i potter around and clean, go for smokes when I please watch them cook as I'm new to the game etc long story short theres a young apprentice hes very keen lad good at cooking but when on shift with him in charge I get the impression he thinks he owns the place and turns into a different person to when were both on shift together when the boss is there. If I stop for 5 mins I dont deserve paying. I get that hes in charge as hes been there 2 years but I get the feeling that he assumes I dont pull my weight which I have been. Should I just get my head down and carry on or is there a way to handle this because I understand that whoever is on shift with you is the boss at that time but theres no need to act like a dick if it was the boss I wouldn't have an issue with it but it's the fact that hes a kid and im a grown ass man and do everything I'm asked to no ifs or butts and the job gets done to a good standard and i do take the initiative and clean etc.

2. chefwriter

chefwriter

Exp:
    Professional Cook
    If the head chef told you there is no one in charge, did he tell the other guy? What makes the other guy think he's the boss when chef isn't there?

3. Ashybashy

Ashybashy

Exp:
    None