Chef Forum banner

Ni hao!

3K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  jasimo 
#1 ·
Hi all, I'm a chef from Holland currently based in Hangzhou, China. I'm on a new adventure after working in a seafood restaurant for two years (in China) on to a head chef position at a small boutique hotel (22 rooms)

This is the first time I will have this function and hopefully you guys can help me out here and there. The biggest challenge for me is making the transition from being a sous-chef to a head chef position. As I am quite young for this position (26). I actually never really got in to forums but reading through the forum really made me want to get in touch with this community!

Hope to be able to help out as well of course!

#2 ·
The good thing is it's a 22 room hotel. You may need to really think out your steps in order to make sure everything you do is on point. This may take extra time at work and outside work to make menus. In other words "Fail Safe" the operation. I think this opportunity could be a great step in your career. Just make sure you give it your all. When hiring employees make sure they are what you want. Your employees are an extension of your vision. If they fail then you failed.

In every position I have had in my career and looking back I thought about how much better I was a few years later. This is the reason why we try not to rush through the kitchen positions to get to our goal of being a chef.
In your case this may be the right size operation to start with. Make sure you realize in the beginning the "Boutique" part of this position should be viewed as everything you and your crew do is special. Your job is to go above and beyond to make everything more than what the customer and the owner expected.......Good luck and knock their socks off!.......ChefBillyB

#5 ·