Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by smitties009, Aug 9, 2017.

1. smitties009

smitties009

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Hi everyone,

Just a short blurb on me, look forward to meeting more people on here.

I graduated from culinary school 5 years ago, after being an at home mum. My children have since flown the coop. Currently I do private chef work in very high end luxury properties, here in NZ. I got the job while i was at the culinary school from one of the tutors who trained me, I worked along side of him for 2 years, and then he decided to leave, i therefore took the head chef role. Being absolutely terrified, I took on the challenge and 4 seasons later Im still here. I have learnt so much along the way, and a very lonely road, while still maintaining that high standard and learning to roll with how this private catering works, as no 2 jobs are the same. I have done plenty of research, research and more research. Im not the greatest in thinking of shit hot dishes on the spot, but over time i can bring them together. Along with every other challenge, I now have a young chef under me whom Im teaching to this level, its been draining and has tested me to my limits at times.

Im very passionate about my work and as a lot of our guests say they see that in my food that I present.
    I work for amazing owners and have the freedom to use any ingredient I so wish to use.

Have an amazing day.

2. flipflopgirl

flipflopgirl

Exp:
    Retired Hospitality
    @smitties009 sounds nice having an empty nest.
    I keep pushing my last birdie out (fly! fly!) but she must have an elastic band somewhere because she keeps coming back lol.
    Sounds like a great career you have going....lots of experience to share here on Chef Talk.
    I want to welcome you to the site and point out the pro catering forum is always looking for fresh advice.