Discussion in 'Pastries & Baking' started by ajinnc, May 4, 2002.

1. ajinnc

ajinnc

Hello everyone! You will probably be hearing from me often. I have been a cook (never considered myself a chef) for about 14 years (I am 30), but have recently taken a turn to the sweeter side of our business. I have taken a more than healthy interest in pastry arts and chocolate. I have some questions about chocolate (by the way, W.DeBord has been helping me in another forum and has turned me on to cheftalkcafe). I am in NC and was wondering about suppliers for candy and chocolate supplies. I know about sugarcraft, but I was wondering about other places. Also if anybody has any suggestions for a good book for me to learn chocolate techniques (especially tempering), I would appreciate it. I've been playing around with a lot of different chocolate things (molds, fillings, truffles) and want to take it to the next level. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Keep it Sweet :D

2. mbcakes

mbcakes

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Hi,

I'm pretty new here but I've already learned alot from the people on this board. WDeBord also turned me onto this site. I don't know much about chocolate but I definitely suggest taking some time and looking over older posts because there's alot of great info there. Happy reading!

3. kimmie

kimmie

One book I would recommend is Chocolate Passion: Recipes and Inspiration from the Kitchens of Chocolatier Magazine
    by Tish Boyle, Timothy Moriarty

I also purchase Chocolatier Magazine on a regular basis.

BTW, I would consider classes as the next level!

Welcome to Cheftalk, AJinNC. I look forward to your posts ;)

4. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Welcome to Chef Talk, AJinNC. You've landed in a great place with great people! We'll look forward to your questions and your contributions.

5. isa

isa

Welcome to Cherf Talk AJinNC!