Newbie student saying hi!

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by ajuniperberry, Dec 11, 2001.

1. ajuniperberry

ajuniperberry

:D Hi! I'm new to this site and wanted to drop in and see what was going on. I am a culinary student at CHIC and I'm always looking for helpful hints on surviving practicals and my instructors!Any hints?!

2. isa

isa

Welcome to Chef Talk Juniper! :)

Nice to meet you.

3. anneke

anneke

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    Hello Juniper Berry! (why do I have this overwhelming desire to call you gin blossom?) Jokes aside, you've come to the right place. Welcome!

As for surviving your instructors, what exactly is the problem? Let us know, there are lots of us in culinary school right now (myself included).
    ;)

4. ajuniperberry

ajuniperberry

Anneke,
    Well, so far I am really enjoying school, the only problem I have come across are, not brutal chefs, but rather, one or two who seem great at what they do, but are very scatter brained when they lecture and demo, or constantlyy leave lab and you have to basically ask the student next to you if you are doing something right. Problem is, they are aking me the same thing. This late in the semester it's not a problem, but the first few weeks of a class when you NEED them, they disappear! Other wise, Everyone has been great and very helpful. The hardest thing for myself is undoing bad habits that I haved been using since I began cooking! Oh well...only time will tell.

ajuniperberry

5. anneke

anneke

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    Yup, had teachers like that. Sometimes you have to make a REALLY stupid mistake for them to notice you!