new!

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by james2, Jun 10, 2002.

1. james2

james2

Hi, I am an ethnobotanist now living in Ontario.

My background is mostly in plants and mushrooms. I did an M.Sc. in BC on the Pezizales (morels, truffles, etc.). It was great, I spent lots of time running around in the woods with my friends picking mushrooms!

My new direction is Canadian indigenous foods. I am working on a proposal to do a Ph.D. on diabetes and the traditional Carrier (northern BC) diet. Hopefully it'll fly!

I'm all about food and drink both personally and professionally, I look forward to chatting with you guys!

keithjw

2. cape chef

cape chef

Exp:
    Professional Chef
  3. pongi

pongi

Hi James!:)

As CC said, I recently started a thread about mushrooms in the Cook's Corner Forum.

You and your expertise are welcome!

Pongi

4. kimmie

kimmie

Welcome from Quebec, James.

Canadian Indigenous Food! Talk to me baby :D

5. momoreg

momoreg

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    Hi James,

It looks like you'll fit in just fine here. Welcome.

6. shroomgirl

shroomgirl

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    Welcome, would love to hear what your finding. CC kinda gave me a PHD in mycology.....mycofogist is way more accurate. I cook shrooms for multitudes of shroom hunters in the woods. It is wet and getting hot here, time for chanterelles and it should be a GREAT year for them.
    This was one of the worst morel years remembered. Truffles huh? Do you know Johan Bruhn at U of Mo in Columbia, Missouri. He was doing work on truffle propogation and I think he discovered the monster fungus in Michigan.

7. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    I'd like to add my welcome, James! Your posts promise to be good reading.

8. isa

isa

Welcome to Chef Talk James!

I can't believe your bakground, sounds fascinating. I can't wait to read more about indigenous foods.

Good luck with your proposal.

9. james2

james2