Chef Forum banner

new to ChefTalk, looking for a new knife

8K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  carvingtool 
#1 ·
Hi all! I'm Michael and new to this forum; stumbled across it searching for info on knives. I've only just found this place and have done some looking at older threads, so please bear with me as I get to know my way around and what has already been discussed!

I've been a serious home cook for 20+ years since college, and a private chef for the past couple. I've gotten by with an ad hoc collection of knives. For the past 8 years or so, a Wusthof 12" Classic has been my main knife. I got it at a cutlery store close-out - I wasn't really looking for a knife that big, but it's certainly awesome! Now that I'm doing more and more cooking, it's time to move on...

I'm not 100% certain I want to go to Japanese steel. I do have some sharpening skills, but not with Japanese water stones. Mostly I've sharpened my knives w/ inexpensive oil stones, ceramic rods and a steel. I can set a pretty sharp edge on most of my knives, especially the 12". I've been happy w/ German steel up until now, but I'm realizing a sharper knife may be to my liking - and definitely lighter!

What I like about German steel is the all-purpose durability and ease of maintenance and sharpening. I'm intrigued by the harder Japanese steel and steeper edge angles, and the sharpness they can achieve.

Completely on the fence about handle style of riveted western vs round/D-shaped Japanese (Wa?).

At the moment I'm looking to upgrade my main chef's knife, with a few others to follow, like a paring knife, 6" slicing/utility knife, etc.
  • I'm leaning towards a riveted handle; doesn't necessarily have to be western though, and this is not a deal killer
  • A knife with some heft and not too fragile, too light, too bendy or whippy
  • something hard, but not impossible to sharpen, not like a 65RC; maybe something like 61-64?
  • a 10" / 270mm