New restaurant Purchasing equipment

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by erickl201, Jan 12, 2017.

1. erickl201

erickl201

Exp:
    Sous Chef
    Hi all,

I`m opening a new restaurant Pizza / fresh pasta concept, and while I have plenty of experience working and managing kitchens I`v never actually had to buy equipment for a new kitchen. I`m more or less set on all cooking equipment and small prep equipment also tables shelving etc. Some of my concerns would be Espresso machines they`re so expensive ?!?!?! should I go with a lease or a refurbished or right out buy a new machine? Would it help out to set up a contract with a coffee company such as lavazza or someone similar to get discounts? I would absolutely love if theres someone out there to correspond with! 

Thanks a bunch!

Erick

2. vic cardenas

vic cardenas

Exp:
    Owner/Operator
    Look for used ones on your local craigslist or other classifieds. 

3. jimyra

jimyra

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    The first thing you need to do is make a complete list of equipment needed.  Don't forget hoods, HVAC, dish, drains, and all the other things.  You will find the Espresso machine is not the  big expense.

4. erickl201

erickl201

Exp:
    Sous Chef
    Yes, like I said most of the large equipment is already planned for. We're working with an architect and have my equipment guy corresponding. Currently in the process of signing the lease for the location. Once signed we start construction. Also liquor license is at the initial steps.

5. foodpump

foodpump

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    Oh dear...