Joined Nov 10, 2001
Hello,

My name is Ron. I'm a disabled Vietnam era Veteran/Baby Boomer who lives in the wooded hills of the Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia. I moved here from Maryland three years ago after selling my 20 year old company in the Washington, DC, Metropolitan Area. I wanted to get out of the city and yet be close enough to make day trips back from time to time. My property is surrounded by State Forest and very serene and beautiful.

I feed the deer and birds and have a live at home son of 21 and a Black Lab/Dalmation mix named Puppy and an adopted stray kitten named Kitty.

My home is full of big windows and skylight and full of light. I'm an Engineer by profession and now that I'm on total disability I spen my time writing and cooking. Always had a knack for cooking. Because I'm an Insulin Dependant Diabetic I can't eat as much of the foods I enjoy as I'd like, but I enjoy a little of everything, including fine pastries and the foods many wrongly THINK we Diabetics can't have. There is in fact no such thing as a Diabetic diet. We can eat anything we want, just not as much as the rest of you.

I have a spinal cord injury whic has caused some upper extremety palsy, mostly in my hands, but I don't let that stop me from doing the things I want. Some tasks are difficult, but I have learned to adapt and take my time.

Be cause I suffer chronic intratable pain I belong to a gret Pain Support Group on Yahoo and have made many great friends there. When we get a bit down we all lean on each other and weather the storm.

Pasta Chef and I have become close friends as a result of chatting in the ASAP (American Society for Action on Pain) message boards. Knowing I love food and cooking, she invited me to join this group. I look forward to meeting everyone here, making good friends and learning new ideas.

Thanks for letting me be a part of your lives and fun.

Joined Mar 13, 2001
Hello Ron.