New member with a fryer problem

Joined Jun 5, 2018
Hi all.

I'm an off-premise catering chef primarily, but I took the executive chef position at a large summer camp for four months. I joined the forum to get some advice with a few fryers but I'm sure I'll have more questions as I try to manage overseeing three meals per day for up to 500 people through August.

The camp has 3 fairly new 60 lb fryers and I've been using one of them for several days for a small pre-open staff. It works fine, but when I fired up the second one I noticed a small but steady leak. I thought it was the valve and showed it to the equipment repair guy. He went to tighten it and found that it was actually a tear in the hopper. The fat is running down the outside of the hopper, onto the drain pipe and then to the floor. It's clearly from the hopper and not the drain system.

I'm told that the tears can't be welded and that the only option is to replace the units. The repair guy seemed very knowledgeable and like a decent person but I want to get more opinions. He works as part of a company that also sells restaurant equipment so he's given me a bid on two new units.

Do you agree that this type of damage can't be repaired? I'll be up to about 400 in a week and the menu has a lot of fried items. I'm worried...

Thanks in advance!

Jerry

Joined May 30, 2015
It could also be a case where it can be repaired but his company won't authorize him to repair it from a liability standpoint. Get a second opinion before buying new fryers, especially for a short-term gig like this. Our restaurant has contracts with Alliled and Hobart for repairs. If it can theoretically be fixed but they aren't authorized, we have a contractor who works exclusively for our restaurants (a dozen or so within a 3-4 hour drive) and does equipment repairs as well as building maintenance/construction for this very reason (it usually can be fixed from a physical stand-point - the trouble is finding someone to do it).