New manager doesn't like me as Sous Chef

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by vluu2780, Dec 16, 2002.

1. vluu2780

vluu2780

Hi there,
    yup, My new food and Bev manager doesn't like the fact that I'm a Sous Chef because I'm a first year student in Culinary Arts. Granted I've only had 2 years of experience in the kitchen, but I've learned quickly and I've also come up with my own daily specials. I've been told that I'm good at what I do. my question is, Have any of you fellow students had that problem, and if so how did you deal with it. I swear I think he wants to make me a dishwasher.

thx much to anyone who helps me

2. culinarian247

culinarian247

You sound like me!!! Welcome 2 CT. How do I deal with it.... Easy, just do your job. Any F&B director worth anything should be more concerned with the bottom line than the age* of the chefs. Hey, if s/he doesn't like it they can do it themselves. Apparently the chef who hired you thought you to be qualified enough.

Boy do you ever sound like me. Your mom's name isn't Suzanne is it? :D

*by age I mean culinary age or "time served" :D

3. vluu2780

vluu2780

No, my mom's name isn't Suzanne. but who knows, we might be separated twins ;)
    I've been working my butt off to get this new restaurant working, Even did some construction work. and I do everything possible to close the kitchen right, and make sure everyone's happy, but still, he doesn't like me. He graduated from the same school in 94 so I think he thinks very little of 1st year students. Says I get paid too much "You're probably the highest paid 1st year student in the U.S." I think he's got to let go of the fact that I'm a student and see what I can do for this place.

4. culinarian247

culinarian247