Need your experience and knowledge

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by Thyme2cook, Jun 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Thyme2cook

Thyme2cook

Exp:
    Thanks for taking the time chefs. I am 19 year old working at a bar and grill. I'm still learning as I just graduated school. I have been going the task to change or chicken wings.

We currently sell 12 wings for 12 dollars. They are frozen, breaded, and brought in by a vendor. Take about 8 minutes to cook from frozen. We offer regular or buffalo.

The owner says this is good because we don't have white since they are frozen. So he does not want fresh. They cost about. 60 cents a piece so not much money made when u factor everything. My plan is to go to fresh wings without breading. Offer a few more sauces and then finish on flattop since we have no grill and would be nice to chat some sauces like the Asian flavored. So my question to you are what are your methods or ideas to improve these wings. I only have one prep guy so can be extremely time consuming and only have one reach in over under the stove. Also I would like to keep the total time from order in to window around the 10 minute range since we push stuff out. Some people say fry from fresh. Others say bake buy I don't have ton of oven space. Your thoughts chefs. Thabks soooo much

2. Thyme2cook

Thyme2cook

Exp:
    Sorry let me correct. The owner thinks this is good since we don't have waste was meant in second paragraph

3. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    I prefer wings that are breaded. We always bread them in-house though, never heard of pre-made frozen wings before.

4. Chef_Aaron_B

Chef_Aaron_B

Exp:
    Executive Chef
    Blanch the wings in a low fryer first, then when order comes in you only have to drop them in a hot fryer for a few mins. This will drop you ticket times.

Steve Cheeseman likes this.
  5. someday

someday

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    :sick: