Need tour help!!!

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by gwen, Apr 8, 2002.

1. gwen

gwen

Hello!
    I'm a french student in modern languages and i have to do a translation work on chocolate in cakes.
    I look for the definition of "chocolate strands", "curls" and the decorations you can make with chocolate.
    Thank you very much for your help.

2. shawtycat

shawtycat

Exp:
    Why don't you just consult Larousse Gastronomique? Get the English version for the english translation of culinary terms. Its available at www.bn.com and www.amazon.com. Just type the name in the search box. Easy as pie. ;)

3. athenaeus

athenaeus

Exp:
    At home cook
    Funny answer from someone who has posed many questions and received many answers ...

Hi Gwen!

Welcome to Chef Talk

Someone of the pastry chefs will answer your question, Have some patience!Otherwise I will check it for you

:)

4. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor
    I'm sure the Pastry Chefs among us can do a much better job of answering, but since I can only do very basic decorating, I'll try to give very basic definitions:

In making many kinds of chocolate decorations, the first step is to melt the chocolate, stir it to cool it down, then re-heat it to a specific temperature. This is called tempering, and is done to keep the finished chocolate product looking shiny and beautiful. While the choc. is still warm, spread it on a work surface. For curls, use a vegetable peeler or knive to scrape off a thin layer -- it will curve back on itself, like ribbon pulled across a scissor blade. The edges of the curl might be a little rough, but that is all right.

For leaves (feuilles?), spread the tempered chocolate on clean unsprayed leaves (yes, real ones from plants!) and let it harden. When you gently separate them, you will have the pattern of the leaf's veins on the chocolate.