Need knives for home use

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by Qwertyuiop, Sep 23, 2018.

1. Qwertyuiop

Qwertyuiop

Exp:
    Pastry chef
    I'm moving out of my parents place and moving in my condo like end of the year or spring.

So I need my own knives for the kitchen. I'm a pastry chef at restaurant but I don't want to ask my coworkers or head chef because I dont think they aren't that knowledgeable.

Im not knowledgeable on knives and pastry chefs obviously don't use knives as much as cooks/chefs do but I cook pretty much every day at home. I usually use santoku over chef knife.

What knives do you guys recommend? I currently have Mercer brand from school and I live in Canada.

2. sgsvirgil

sgsvirgil

Exp:
    Retired Owner/Operator
    Why wouldn't your head chef or co-workers be knowledgeable about knives?

Choosing a set of knives is a very personal endeavor. Not everyone is the same and what is good for one person is not necessarily good for another.

Having said that, you should first examine your own knife skills and be brutally honest about it. A knife sharpened to the point where it can slice atoms can very easily send a novice user to the hospital. The same is equally true for a dull blade.

After that, determine what the knives will be used for. What sort of cooking style and what sort of ingredients? This will determine the content of your knife set more than anything else.

Do you want a pre-made knife set or do you want to piece together your own hybrid set? While pre-made sets can be cheaper, you tend to give up a measure of choice in terms of what knives are included in the set. Piecing together a set can be more expensive, but, you have complete control over what knives make up the set.

Figure out what style of knives suit you the best. Western? Japanese?

What sort of handle do you want. Professional chefs will place high value on the comfort of the knife because they spend a lot of time using it.