Need guidance

Discussion in 'Jobs / Internships Postings' started by KARTHIK DILIP RAMANATHAN, Feb 25, 2019.

1. KARTHIK DILIP RAMANATHAN

KARTHIK DILIP RAMANATHAN

Exp:
    Hi distinguished Chef's,

My name is karthik and I live in Dubai. I am a data analyst. I am 31yrs old and I think its high time that I follow my passion for cooking. Can somebody guide me on how I should start? I have only cooked in my kitchen and have never had a chance to cook/learn in a professional kitchen. I think I will work as a newbie in a professional kitchen for 1 year and then pursue a degree in cooking from a culinary school. I am ready to learn the proper methodologies and then pursue cooking as a career. Is there any chef's in Dubai whom I can meet and train under.

Thank you

2. sgsvirgil

sgsvirgil

Exp:
    Retired Owner/Operator
    Welcome to CT. :)

A passion for cooking is never enough, though its a start. Cooking for friends and family is nothing like cooking commercially. Its like saying that because you have ridden in an airplane, you can fly a plane. They are two completely different things.

The one common thread within the food industry that is shared around the world is this is a hard life. You will not have time for family, friends, a marriage, children or any sort of social life. You will be working while others enjoy their days off and holidays as these are the busiest times. You will work 60-80 hours a week. The pay isn't good and you will be into your 40's by the time you are ready for any sort of management position.