Need an advice on freezing meatballs

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by Alex7403, Jan 30, 2018.

1. Alex7403

Alex7403

Exp:
    Again there is too much love in the pan
    Hello everybody,
    I'm a home cook and I make meatballs and freeze them.
    my recipe goes like this: mix 1 cup breadcrumbs, 1 cup grated parmesan cheese, 1 egg, 1 lb frozen chopped spinach, 3 lb ground meats, garlic powder and other spices.
    Mix it, roll into balls and bake it at 400F , let it cool and freeze it for few weeks.

I want to add several ingredients such as fresh chopped parsley, chopped onions fried in olive oil, chopped garlic fried in olive oil.

Questions: Can I add those ingredients to the mixture if I want to freeze the baked meatballs, i was told not to add garlic and in general fried foods are not great when you defrost them?

Thanks

2. Livin' The Country Life

Livin' The Country Life

Exp:
    :)
    I love making frozen meals, I am not an expert but ... I have always added garlic to my meatballs, and my meatloaf that I have prepared for freezing, I have never had an issue with it, taste or otherwise! :)

fatcook likes this.
  3. koukouvagia

koukouvagia

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Why were you told not to add garlic?

I freeze meatballs too but I freeze them raw. I just like cooking them fresh. They freeze really well and are super easy to pop into the oven.

4. Alex7403

Alex7403

Exp:
    Again there is too much love in the pan
    Because i dont want to go through cooking them everytime I just defrost them in the microwave.

5. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    You can freeze baked meatballs with any ingredient inside. No worry.

6. maryb

maryb

Exp:
    Semi pro/retired now
    I make meatballs in mushroom gravy quite often. Freezes well in an airtight container. Garlic in them is fine to freeze too. I freeze in Food Saver bags then reheat in a pan of simmering water. Tastes like fresh!

7. fatcook

fatcook

Exp:
    Owner/Operator