need advice!

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by Anthony j. DiBernardo, Oct 5, 2017.

1. Anthony j. DiBernardo

Anthony j. DiBernardo

Exp:
    line cook, pizza maker
    I just moved to Pennsylvania about two weeks ago, i stay in Allentown and i am currently not in a kitchen position. I have about two years kitchen experience but have been cooking at home for quite some time. I was in the process of applying to a couple of culinary schools but the more i look into it the more i think its a waste of money for me. I would be very interested in an internship or apprenticeship as there is no better substitute for experience. If anybody has any suggestions or pointers everything would be greatly appreciated. I am only twenty years old and just left my job at a Italian restaurant in Clearwater, Fl. Thank you!

2. Dianaleigh88

Dianaleigh88

Exp:
    Chef
    Hello, one thing I can say is all the culinary school students and grads that have worked for me don't know jack. I truly believe that culinary school is only what you put into it. You must have some talent and a lot of passion or you will be wasting your time and money.

Look up the American Culinary Federation. I did an apprenticeship through them and it was fantastic!

My other suggestion is to apply to scratch kitchen restaurants in your area. When you get hired make sure you show initiative, and the willingness to learn and be taught. Be a self starter and be very focused on your task at hand, putting out a great product no matter what station they place you in. If you work hard, have drive and passion you can work your way up. I started in a kitchen putting sauces on plates as a teenager and over the years I tried to learn as much as I could. I just opened up my own restaurant four years ago.

Anthony j. DiBernardo likes this.
  3. flipflopgirl

flipflopgirl

Exp:
    Retired Hospitality