Need advice from experienced Chefs please

Joined May 30, 2018
Greetings fellow cooks! I've been struggling with something for a while a just wanted some help. I've worked in restaurants my whole life, I'm 34 and I've been cooking seriously for over a decade. I've been to culinary school, worked in Michelin starred restaurants and worked with James Beard Award winning chefs, worked in a lot of really good restaurants and over time I've become an excellent cook. I love to cook for other people but I hate working in restaurants and I've never met a happy Chef; they are usually angry and unhappy and drink a lot. I've been a sous chef several times and absolutely hated it. Way too much stress and I never got to be creative, terrible pay, never got any time off. All in all ive gotten really good at cooking but i really dont think i want to be a restaurant chef but then I think "maybe if I'm an exec chef I won't be on the line as much and I can create more so it will be worth it. " Im wondering should i try to stick it out as a chef and do what i love but be stressed out and unhappy? Or should i just try to start another career? Also is the private chef or culinary instructor a good way to go? Thanks in advance

Joined Mar 1, 2017
This is a decision that only you can make.

But, I will say one thing. Anything good that has ever happened to me in this business has happened because I made it happen.

Be honest with yourself and the answer will come. :)

Good luck.

Joined Oct 1, 2006
Hi HC,

Sounds like you have good chops and a good resume! Here is your chance to get creative! You know the industry well enough to understand most of its permutations. I also have faith that you will find a way to use your expertise to your advantage.

Everything from "consultant" to a food truck. If you are single and like to travel you have even more options!