Need Advice for Interview

Discussion in 'Professional Pastry Chefs' started by harpua, May 4, 2005.

1. harpua

harpua

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    I just got a call from a conference resort telling me that I have an interview with the pastry chef on Thursday. I am really nervouse because they want me to wear my chef's uniform and do some practical demnstrations..

I have NO IDEA what he is giong to ask me to do. Should I practice at home?

The thing is, I bake all of the time at home and I have only worked commercially with bread. I can do cakes and cookies very well, but I have no real experience with croissants or danishes. I am a very quick learner, and I can do anything well, but I just haven't had an interest to do the mentioned at home. I just want them to hire me and go from there. I'm good with dough.

Does anyone have any advice or thoughts for me?

2. momoreg

momoreg

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    What is the job description? If you're not experienced in the thing they are hiring for, then most likely, you won't be very proficient at *****strating. Make it clear to them what your experience is first, so you don't waste your time on a practical you're not cut out for. In the meantime, study as much as you can if you're thinking of expanding your knowledge.

3. harpua

harpua

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    Job description:

Department: CULINARY

Position: PASTRY COOK

Qualifications: 5 years of pastry experiences, worked with high volume banquet functions. At least 1 year experience in a 4-star 4-diamond resort.

Description: 1 Full Time position. Able to work various shifts including nights and weekends. Prepare pastry products for banquet functions and restaurant outlets.

Department: CULINARY