Nakiri or Usuba better for me?

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by celbrise, May 13, 2017.

1. celbrise

celbrise

Exp:
    Line Cook
    My chef has been complaining that our lettuce has been turning brown and suspects that it's because of my knife. i use a 10inch kiritsuke gyoto by shun the blue steel one. it is pretty heavy which could be the cause but i don't think it is. im looking to get a nakiri or usuba for cutting vegetables at work and was wondering which one would be best for me. i read that usuba's are single bevel and nakiri's are double bevel which is the only difference and im not a pro nor have used a single bevel knife before. 

i was also wondering why these knives are so short i see them at like 5-6inches usually.

any recommendations on the knife as well? im not a huge fan of shun i think they are over priced only reason i got it was because the other knives i was looking at were more expensive or shorter in length then my previous knife. im looking for a comfortable wooden handle don't know much about metal types as well besides that some rust easily and need to be oiled. 

2. foody518

foody518

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    How are you sharpening?

You haven't listed a prepping task that really requires an usuba

Some wooden handles should be periodically oiled as well

To me, this thread and the couple of others you've opened sound more like a sharpening problem (dull or too thick), maybe a wrong knife for the task problem, but going down to a 6-7 inch knife doesn't really seem like the optimal choice.

Why not a regular well-ground chefs knife?

Give a call to the guys at Japanese Knife Imports and talk about your prep needs, sharpening, and budget

Last edited: May 13, 2017
  3. mike9

mike9

Exp:
    Former Chef