My first true knife

Joined Mar 15, 2017
Hello all,

I know there is thread upon thread on this topic but I wanted to see what everyone's thoughts were after I have done a lot of reading.

So my background is that I am a home cook and do a lot of cooking for my family and others. I love cooking! I have always been passed down knives which were mediocre but now I think it is time to invest in a truly amazing knife. After lots of research and reading, I have decided that I will be getting my first JK.

I was exposed to these knives at a young age when I worked at my uncle's restaurants but I have not handled one since. My question now like many others is what knife to get. I know that I want a chef's knife and there are a few that catch my eye but since I live in PA there are no good knife stores in my area other than big retailers like William Sonoma and Sur La Table. Due to this I can not feel most of the knives I see online.

So my initial question is I am considering a Richmond sdk-11 gyuto 210mm, is this a good starter jk and is there even anything worth considering it against at the stores such as William Sonoma and Sur LA Table?

Thank you so much for the help,

RWatkins

Joined Aug 6, 2015

So my initial question is I am considering a Richmond sdk-11 gyuto 210mm, is this a good starter jk and is there even anything worth considering it against at the stores such as William Sonoma and Sur LA Table?

Thank you so much for the help,

RWatkins
Hi RWatkins, welcome to Cheftalk.

Are you referring to the ones on closeout? I don't think you're going to enjoy the 'minor' issues of shrunken scales and gaps in bolster, to be frank. Do you have a specific budget range and other specifications you're aiming for? FWIW I've had more poor than good experiences with the Richmond house brand...prefer to shop elsewhere now where the vendors are more selective about what they stock.

How do you plan to be sharpening your purchase?

Last edited:
Joined Mar 15, 2017