My Experience with Chroma Type 301 knives

Joined Jun 7, 2021
I have varied set of kitchen knives, from a natural patina, old high carbon steel butcher's knife, to circa 1974 Chicago Cutlery Stain Resistant knives, and my Chroma Type 301, 10" Chef's knife. My favorites are the high carbon butcher's knife, and the Chroma.

Trying to put an objective spin on the Chroma evaluation:
first, the blade geometry: The edge is a convex edge, and is has a curved belly, with a dropped spine to the tip. A steel isn't recommended by Chroma . I have been using a quality steel on my knife since I got it in 2003, with great results. I rarely have to use wet stones, or strops to re-sharpen. Ideally, for a convex edge, if using a power sharpener, someth9ing like a Work Sharp, with sharpening belts, and a leather strop, Electric knife sharpeners with grinding wheels, and most rod style sharpeners are designed for v-grinds. Dragging the blade heel first across the strop, will maintain the convex shape, as the leather will conform to that shape. This is much more challenging to accomplish with a flat stone. A convex edge, by its geometry, is stronger that a v, or chisel shape edge.

The blades is tapered thicker at the spine, and thinning in a straight line to the belly. The metal is stain resistant but will pit, ad corrode if not taken care of. This is true of all stainless knives. Acidic food, and alkali substances will create corrosion, and pitting. You wouldn't think it, but meats, potatoes, onions, garlic, and many other foods, even sugar, are acidic in nature. Leaving food residue on the knife will definitely lead to corrosion, as will standing water, as it contains minerals and salts that will affect the metal..