My career is at a crossroads, and any wise advice would be appreciated.

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by iwutlaoha, Apr 26, 2010.

1. iwutlaoha

iwutlaoha

Exp:
    Line Cook
    First and foremost, I appreciate anyone taking the time to read this thread.  I've been cooking professionally for a little over 3 years now with no culinary degree, but I've had the privilege of working at a wonderful resort for over two years now.  Some of that time has been spent in a casual dining experience, almost 2 years were spent in a $10 million budget banquet department, followed by a little over 3 months now spent in a 5 star restaurant, which has to this point been the milestone of my career.

I am currently working the Garde Manger station, which along with sushi and charcuterie, I'd consider to be my strong suit up to this point.  Even though I know the safe decision would be to build my breadth of experience in the somewhat safe setting of where I'm currently employed, I am drawn to move to a new area for a myriad of reasons.  Partly financial, and partly to challenge myself even more, I am looking in to several lead cook postions.  My hot line skills I would say are competent, but I can honestly say I am yet to accel.

Feasibly, I have about 2 months to bring myself to a level where I can feel confident that I can run a kitchen.  If anyone has reading or other resources, inspiration, known pitfalls, or advice, it would be very much appreciated to read it on this forum.  I believe it's in a cook's nature to bite off more than they can chew and make it happen, so I don't think I'm the only one who's gone through this in their career by any means.

Thank you for any support

2. deltadude

deltadude

Exp:
    Cook At Home