Moving to Upstate NY

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by biltmorecook, Aug 3, 2003.

1. biltmorecook

biltmorecook

I was wondering if anyone had any information about the Hyde Park and Rhinebeck region of New York.

I am a cook who was already graduated from culinary school, and looking to move to the area for personal reasons. I am aware that the CIA is located in Hyde Park, and that at some jobs I might have a slight disadvantage because of the abundance of cooks in the area.

I have been out of culinary school for 4+ years now, and have worked mostly in a 4 diamond hotel (haven't got the 4 stars because the hotel is located on private property).

Information I am looking for is primarily job related, as in, places to check out, places to avoid, pay rate, and places to live. Any info at all would be a great help. Thanks.

P.S. Mods, if this isn't the right forum, please move at your descresion.

2. pete

pete Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    The heart of the Hudson Valley is loaded with great restaurants, inns, and hotels, but it is difficult to find jobs there as many chefs, sick of the city life, have headed up that way to find a more relaxing pace of life. Some places to do research would be back issues of just about every food mag. there is. It seems that they have all done expansive issues covering the Hudson Valley in the last 5 years. Yahoo search engine helped me out when I was considering looking for a job in that area. Just type in Inn, New York, and start looking for inns in the towns you are considering. I also found many places by hunting for hotels, lodging, etc. After finding places, I made a list then did searches on those places to get reviews, etc. I know the Sagamore is up in that area-great place to work, if you can get in!!

3. ironchefatl

ironchefatl

Exp:
    Other
    Hi again Biltmorecook. So I am moving there and you are coming here? HMMM