Monkfish

Joined Feb 9, 2002
I am an amateur chef with a true desire to prepare a
different yet simple monkfish tonight. The meal will be duplicated Weds night for my partner and a possible investor.
I've all the necessary cooking essentials but not the greatest
specialty food stores (couldn't find chanterral mushrooms today)
Any suggestions?
:) :eek:

Joined Jul 31, 2000
Hi Dad Chef, and welcome to cheftalk.
Just a quick note. Check out the recipe forum to post and contribute.
I love monkfish.(Lotte..Anglerfish)
Great texture and subtle flavor.

I was in Manhatten last week and had monkfish as my entree.
It sounds like it may be something similar to what you are looking for.
The fish was quickly oven roasted, sliced and served with fava beans, chanterels and a excellent garlic jus. You could substitute blue foot or hedgehog shrooms for the chanterels.

Just one idea to think about, But do look around the different forums to get ideas.
cc

Joined Feb 9, 2002
Thanks for your input.

Hedgehog shrooms I can find and I'll check your recipe forum!
Experimenting is not my forte and often times my Bon Appetit
mags are my guide. This sight is wonderful, I'll be back!

I've enjoyed reading the talks! I have a recipe for garlic au jus
I'm assuming your entre in NYC included medallions for the MONK!
I'll tell ya how it turned out, w/ input from my favoriter guinea pig, and wife!

:roll:

Joined Jul 31, 2000
Have fun, Thats the key!

I think you will enjoy cheftalk.
This community if overflowing with super people with great knowelage, and are not afraid to share.
cc

Joined Apr 19, 2001
Welcome! Try Earthy Delights for the fresh chanterelles, at
www.earthy.com

Love monkfish! Except the first time I cooked it (of course a long, long time ago!!!) I didn't take off the membrane and it was rather chewy!:D

Joined Jul 31, 2000
Marmalady,

First impressions are important. The first time I worked with Monkfish..it was the whole beast :)