Monitoring wastage levels?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by 21TonyK, Jun 20, 2018.

1. 21TonyK

21TonyK

Exp:
    Chef, ex-restaurateur
    Prompted reading the thread about food costing it reminded me to look at wastage levels again.

In past kitchens we have recorded our daily wastage on unprepped and cooked food items normally coming in under 5%, well under on a lot of things. I don't ask people to record wastage where I am now but will be looking to introduce it over the next few weeks.

What are your experiences?

2. chefbuba

chefbuba

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    I always had a clipboard on the line to record waste, and often reminded everyone to use it.

phaedrus and Pat Pat like this.
  3. capricciosa

capricciosa

Exp:
    Professional Baker, Butcher, Garde Manger
    When I was a baker, we had a computer program that did the math. The raw product (unbaked doughs, cakes, icings, etc) were entered into the computer inventory when the trucks came in. Every night, stales/damages were scanned out with a price-gun thing and sales were taken out of inventory by the POS system. Once a month, we did a manual count to verify on-hands for accuracy. Our goal was 10% or less waste, and anything useable was donated to food banks.

At the restaurant I work in, we don't track wastage and order things by guessing/eyeballing. Nothing is cross-referenced, payroll inventory etc all come out of one fund, and our daily sales get put in the same fund as well. I'm just waiting for the day when we find out that we're so far in the hole due to poor financial planning that we come in to work and the doors are locked.

4. jonnyhotcakes

jonnyhotcakes

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    What I generally do is keep trashcans out of the prep areas. All waste (trim, spoilage, etc) goes in 12 Qt Cambros. I assign a number, like $4.00 a quart, and use that to quantify waste, share the number with staff, and set a goal of beating that number each week, with incentives.