Microwave Roux?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by sgt. pepper, Jan 9, 2005.

1. sgt. pepper

sgt. pepper

As a Kentucky born-and-bred "Cajun wannabe", I've been cooking Cajun food for 10 years or longer now. I've read many books about Cajun cooking, studied it in somewhat great detail, and have become quite good at cooking Cajun dishes (at least that's what they tell me). Anyway, I make my roux the old school way...flour and oil over medium heat, stirring constantly for 15-30 minutes. The result is almost always perfect. While surfing around today, I read on gumbopages.com that you can make a roux in the microwave, in a shorter time, and without all the stirring (even though Chuck Taggart scoffed at the idea). I know all you old schoolers are gonna say there is now way you can make a good roux in the microwave, but I was wondering if anyone has done it and what the results were? I'd like to hear pro or con reviews on this topic if you've tried it. Until then, I'll be standing over my stove, stirring my "Two beer roux" (as Mr. Bam Pow Ah Yeah Babe Kick It Up A Notch, calls it), sweating and trying not to splash the Cajun Napalm on my flesh! :chef:

2. phatch

phatch Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    I've done it. Pyrex recommends against it. Cook's illustrated blew up a tempered glass Pyrex measuring cup doing it.

You still have to stir it about every 30 seconds so it cooks evenly, but it is much faster. And more dangerous.

As to the quality of the result, I think it tastes different than a roux cooked in cast iron in the standard method. As to a baked roux in the standard oven, I've done that too--in cast iron. I'll still do it if I'm pressed for time or burner space on occasion. It's different too as it doesn't get stirred as much as it seems to need, but I prefer it to the risks and results of the microwave.

Phil

3. keeperofthegood

keeperofthegood

Hey oh