Menus for "mixed" dining

Discussion in 'Open Forum With Denise Landis' started by mezzaluna, Feb 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Dear Denise,

I find my puzzling over how to manage a sit-down dinner menu when the diners have varying tastes or dietary needs. For instance, how do you plan when one person is vegetarian but the others will eat meat or poultry? To complicate things further, my husband doesn't eat fish (fin or shell) at all. I've managed to develop one menu for this but some general principles would help in expanding my repertoire. I'm a fairly well-skilled home cook, but not a pro.

Thank you in advance,
    Mezzaluna

2. denise landis

denise landis

Exp:
    Food Writer
    Here are some ways to solve the problem of the vegetarian coming for the roast beef dinner, the friend who is allergic to shrimp when you have your heart set on a shrimp appetizer, the husband who won't touch fish when you want to serve a whole baked salmon:

-- Keep small portions of foods frozen for such occasions. There are plenty of recipes that freeze very well. I have made and frozen the following vegetarian dishes: zucchini soup, black bean soup, burgers (homemade of course), chili, etc. Make your dinner as planned, but serve the person who won't eat it something similar. If I am serving roast beef, I will not serve the vegetarian a soup, but instead, a roasted vegetable dish.

-- Serve a dish that can be adapted to be vegetarian or not. In my book Dinner for Eight, I have an appetizer recipe for Crispy Mushrooms with Ginger Sauce. I adapted the recipe from one I make using shrimp. I have several friends who are vegetarian, and when one is coming for dinner, I sometimes make the mushrooms first (so the oil won't be contaminated), then fry the shrimp. The sauce is vegetarian but I supply a spoon for the sauce and individual plates, or else a separate bowl of sauce for dipping the mushrooms.