Chef Forum banner

Menu review, please?

4K views 25 replies 7 participants last post by  EdwardParkernl 
#1 ·
I am a home cook who cooks for a lot of group events. I am in charge a luncheon for 50, all older folk, over age 65. I am making butternut squash lasagna that I will make in advance, bake, then freeze and reheat the day of. Its very rich with a cup of whipping cream poured over the top before baking.

I am planning an arugula salad with toasted walnuts and...either fresh apple or dried cranberries...simple dressing..

What else? I was thinking of a plate of sliced oranges with a sprinkle of coconut or mint at each of the 7 round tables?

Then I was thinking of chocolate dipped fruit, pears and apples and bananas...but now it seems I've got to much fruit. I don't really know what is needed along with the salad and lasagna. Bread seems overkill...or maybe not?

I could make a rich chocolate cookie for dessert, I suppose..

Thanks again for your ideas,
Ann C.

#2 ·
I don't really get the sliced oranges thing, but otherwise I don't see any problems.

I think for a lunch a salad/lasagna with a dessert sounds like plenty. If it were dinner I'd think maybe a first course or something would be appropriate but not for lunch.

I might try and find a way to bake it fresh for the event would be my only thing. A platter of cookies for each table would be a great dessert. Everyone loves cookies.

#5 ·
I don't really get the sliced oranges thing, but otherwise I don't see any problems.

I think for a lunch a salad/lasagna with a dessert sounds like plenty. If it were dinner I'd think maybe a first course or something would be appropriate but not for lunch.

I might try and find a way to bake it fresh for the event would be my only thing. A platter of cookies for each table would be a great dessert. Everyone loves cookies.